Fubo Hill is located on the western bank of Li River in the northeast of the city, 2 kilometers away from Elephant Trunk Hill and above the western bank of Li River.It is 63 meters high, 60 meters wide, and 213 meters above sea level. It is a solitary peak, standing elegantly half on land and half on water. The east of the cave curbs the river stream, causing the formation of a deep pool, so the hill is named Fubo Hill (Wave-Curbing Hill).
Fubo Hill ‘s unique shape and interesting sights make it a favorite of tourists. Near the river there is a rice pot big enough to cook for 1000 people at a time. At the southern foot of the hill is a garden full of bamboos, palm trees and flowers, a quite and interesting place.Natural rocks and stalactites as well as artificial cloister and pavilions are the extraordinary scenery of the hill. At the foot of the hill are the Pearl-Returning Cave, the Thousand-Buddha Cave and the Sword-Testing Rock. Halfway to the hill is the Tingtao Pavilion (Pavilion of Listen-to-Waves).A cloister and tearoom were on the southern slope. On the southern slope is Pearl-Returning Cave (huangzhu dong). Inside the Cave is “Sword-Testing Rock, At the end of the cave is Thousand-Buddha Cave with 250 Buddhist statues and more than 100 carved inscriptions in different periods. Stone stairs are leading to the hilltop on the western slope. A perfect sightseeing place is the Viewing Platform on the stairway.
There is a stone path on the southern side of the hill. Half way up the hill is a Sight-Seeing Terrace from which you can see the Old Man Hill northwest to it, resembling an old man in the hood looking up to the south. It is so life-like that you can even distinguish his brow and beard. The way from the Sight-Seeing Terrace to the summit of the hill can be compared with the way to the West Peak in the Hua Mountain. It is narrow and steep. Only the brave ones dare to scale the heights and find the climbing interesting.
This part of the hill is also home to the Returned Pearl Cave. The legend says that once a fisherman entered this cave and saw an old man sleeping with a pearl by his side. The fisherman stole the pearl and took it home. Someone told him that the pearl belonged to the Dragon king and that he would get angry if the pearl was not returned. The fisherman quickly took the pearl back; hence the cave is called Returned Pearl Cave.
Over 200 Buddha images are etched into the wall of Returned Pearl Cave. Some are over 1000 years old while most date from the Song and Tang Dynasties. You can see Mifu ‘s, a famous painter and calligraphist in the Song dynasty, self-portrait. A rock called Sword Testing Rock hangs from the ceiling and almost touches the ground. The legend says the emperor tested his sword by cutting what was originally a stone pillar and has left a crevice at the bottom ever since. On the western side near the Returned Pearl Cave, there are stone stairways up to the Kuishui Pavilion and to the top. From there, one can feel the cool breeze while enjoying a bird’s-eye view of the Li River.
Pearl-Returning Cave is composed of many side-caves, linked like a labyrinth. A several-meter stalactite column, thick on top and tapering downwards, hangs all the way from the ceiling the ground. It is so strange that no visitors will see it without amazement. Since the space between the column and the ground seems to be the result of a sword cut it is named Sword Testing Stone. The step beside the Sword Testing Stone wind their way up to the Thousand Buddha Cave, in which are more than 200 Buddha statues made in the Tang Dynasty.